Skip to content

moments: 07 macarons

2011/03/27

I know this was originally a weekly series, but I’ve been behind on my ‘moments’ so I thought I’d do a few in a row to make up for it. Hopefully once the weather gets warmer I’ll be able to keep up with this series on a weekly basis as intended. Right now, my life is consumed by my school work and that leaves very little when it comes to material for this blog.

I dropped by Bayview Village last saturday in hopes of finding a good book or two at Chapters. Instead I found myself at Pusateri’s buying French macarons. The stores are right across from each other, I just couldn’t resist temptation!! I actually didn’t even make it into the bookstore, after I bought my macarons I literally ran to my car with excitement and totally forgot about everything else.

I ended up with six very colourful macarons – in order of the pictures: I got a red velvet cake, cafe au lait, pistachio, black current, and the last two were chocolate flavoured. As I am typing this up, I am a little sad that I have none left. But luckily for me, BV is a 10 minute drive from my house and I’m positive I’ll be making a trip there sometime next week! harhar

A question do you guys call them macaROONs or macaRONs?! I’ve heard people say both, but I’d really like to know which is the correct term!!

Edit
With the help of some lovely ladies on Twitter (@notjamilla @MariahKunkel @RitournelleBlog @styleonthecouch ) I finally have the answer to my question. It IS indeed pronounced macaRons!! Take that guy behind Pusateri’s bakery counter who gave me a funny face when I said that!

bloglovin

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 2011/03/27 9:13 am

    I say macaRON because it’s a French term… lol.
    If the people say macaroons in the store I will say that too because theyre anglophones..

    • 2011/03/27 10:51 am

      I say MacaRon as well. When I went to buy these, I said Macarons and the guy looked at me funny. hahah

  2. Minh permalink
    2011/03/27 10:52 pm

    I use both words. Don’t matter to me. And also because I don’t really know which one is the absolute correct word for it 😀

    • 2011/03/28 12:43 am

      I had a Twitter conversation with some lovely ladies who finally clarified it for me! It is in fact pronounced macaRons. So we were pronouncing it correctly this whole time, pheww.

Leave a Reply

