Skip to content

marchesa spring 2011 rtw

2010/09/18

This collection can be described in one word – breathtaking. Georgina Chapman and Keren Craig of Marchesa have created, in my opinion, the best collection this Fashion Week. Marchesa has never really been on my radar, I know that they are extremely popular when it comes to red carpet events and that they make some really beautiful wedding dresses, but aside from that I didn’t know much else. However, after this years ready-to-wear collection, I’m definitely going to keep a look out on what else Marchesa has to offer.

Each garment that came down the runway looked absolutely flawless, it was almost as if each piece had a story to tell. From the most beautiful bejeweled necklines, the delicate hand painted gowns to the most amazing fabric choices – the details on the garments were impeccable.

Aside from beautiful gowns, there were also a few jumpsuits that features the extremely popular harem pants (which is a trend that I don’t think I can *ever wrap my head around). My most favourite gown of the show would have to be this one:

It’s literally a work of art, when I saw this dress I couldn’t take my eyes off of it. I kept studying the cut-out pattern, and I love the way the fabric creates movement and directs your eyes down to the most beautiful pair of blush deep-v pumps I have ever seen. Although it’s very reminiscent of the deep-v pumps by Céline (which I saw at Holt Renfrew on sale for under $300 and am now regretting not buying!)

image source: style.com
One Comment leave one →
  1. 2010/10/16 1:33 pm

    Sweet blog, I hadn’t come across sortofromantic.wordpress.com earlier in my searches!
    Keep up the excellent work!

Leave a Reply

