Skip to content

it’s all in the braid

2010/05/21

A few posts back I talked about my love for the fishtail braid, and the other day I decided that I would give it a go. It didn’t turn out perfectly, but I think that the problem is mainly due to the fact that my hair isn’t long enough and I have too many layers. I think that this haircut would be best for people who have really long hair that’s cut straight across with no layers.

This is the length of my hair currently, so if your hair is at this length or shorter you’re going to have a hard time getting the braid to look neat. Unless you’re looking for a messier braid than this length would be perfect, or even shorter!


I was having a good makeup day, or else I wouldn’t be posting such a large picture of my face up haha. Well that and you get a better look at what the braid looks like, I think I did an alright job considering it was my first time. I’m definitely going to try it a few more times, hopefully I’ll get better with practice.

My shirt says ‘Diamonds are Forever’ and there’s a giant diamond image underneath the writing and I got it from Aritzia two-three years ago. It looks like it’s pilling really badly, but that’s was how the shirt was originally.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 2010/05/21 2:06 am

    So pretty! I wish my hair was long enough to do braids..

  2. 2010/05/21 7:49 am

    I LOVE your braids more than the fish tails! 😛 I can see the fishiness of the thin braids. You did good mia! You did good!

  3. Bum permalink
    2010/05/21 11:50 am

    Very pretty. I like. The hair isn’t bad either.

    • 2010/05/28 1:40 pm

      Are you saying that I’m pretty? Because that’s what I’m getting from this comment. I love you!

  4. 2010/05/27 7:16 pm

    Loving the braid. And your makeup looks awesome in the close up.

  5. 2010/05/28 1:41 pm

    Thanks everyone, I’ve been practicing my fish tail braid and can officially say that I’m *good at it now. hahah.

    I’m sure future posts will feature this hairstyle more often. I’ve been wearing it everywhere!

Leave a Reply

