Skip to content

for the love of; fish tail braid

2010/05/12

This season it’s all about the fish tail (aka Herringbone or Fishbone) braid, I’ve seen it all over the place. In fashion shows, on models, celebrities, it’s EVERYWHERE. And I’m always keen on a new trend so I had to try it. I’ve looked at multiple sites to try to learn the fish tail braid to no avail. I am horrible at it. Although, I was never much of a hair braider to begin with, I can’t even do a simple French braid for that matter harhar.

Here are instructions to braid a fish tail:
Step 1:
Start with clean, well-combed hair pulled back into a ponytail. It is best to have dry hair and works best with medium to very long length hair that is not layered.
Step 2: Divide the ponytail into two equal sections, and than take approximately 1 inch sections from underneath the left section of hair and cross it over the right section.
Step 3: Hold the ponytail securely with your left thumb and use your free right hand to take a small section the same size as the previous section from underneath the right side and cross it over to the left side.
Step 4: Continue steps 2-3 until you reach the end of your ponytail, or your desired length. Secure the end with an elastic band.

If only I could get my braid to look like Sasha Pivovarova’s, it’s such a flirty summer look and she looks amazing. Let me know if you’re able to achieve this look! I’m going to keep practicing, if I succeed I’ll be sure to post a few pictures to show you all!

image source: http://stockholmstreetstyle.feber.se
4 Comments leave one →
  1. Bum permalink
    2010/05/13 2:28 pm

    What tip could you provide for me, someone with one inch hair, to achieve this look?

    • 2010/05/13 4:56 pm

      I think you would need to have some hair extensions. We can go to Sally’s Beauty Supply store and get you some =)

  2. 2010/05/13 8:13 pm

    yeah, I can’t even stand to look that it. because it only reminds me of fish bones. I guess it creeps me out. haha. I love braids. I think they’re so feminine and so pretty, but not that way. I’m sure a loose braid would suit her outfit fine..

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention for the love of; fish tail braid « -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

