Skip to content

world’s most expensive purse #2

2010/04/20

The second most expensive purse in the world is extremely beautiful and unless you’re a socialite, celebrity or filthy rich these are hard to come by. A lot of these purses have long waiting lists, and even if you’re on the waiting list you aren’t guaranteed one. But I guess it feels good to just be on a waiting list for such a prestigious handbag. If you haven’t already checked out my other three posts about the fifth, fourth and third most expensive purse, you should do so! Maybe you’ll find them appealing, I on the other hand did not.

World’s most expensive purse #2
Hermès Matte Crocodile Birkin Bag – $120,000

Ah yes, the coveted Birkin bag, this particular Birkin was sold at the Doyle Auction House for $120,000. The clasp of this 30 cm tote boasts 10 carats of white diamonds, and is made of crocodile. Hermès also makes Birkins that are made out of quality leather which generally sell for about $6500 USD, the ones that are made out of exotic animal skins will sell for a lot more. Also, the bags that are made out of smaller crocodile scales costs more than larger crocodile scales.

Birkins are generally lined with goat skin, and the colour usually matches the exterior. The clasps are usually plated with gold or palladium, and if a customer wants to make a custom order they can choose to have the lock covered in leather or encrusted with diamonds.

I visited the Hermès store in Yorkville a few weeks back with my parents and I was able to look at the Birkin bag up close. I’ve coveted over Birkin Bags for many years now, and to finally hold one in my hand was such an exciting moment. They are beautiful and the leather is super soft, it’s like nothing I have ever touched before.

I read an article about Victoria Beckham and her Birkin Bag collection once. The article claims Victoria has over 100 bags, and her Birkin collection is worth over £1.5 million. That’s totally insane, she probably has a bag in every possible colour. I bet she gets to bypass the waiting lists and she’s able to get her hands on all the Birkins she wants first. While it’s hard to believe anyone could have over 100 bags that are similar, but I definitely wouldn’t put it past Victoria Beckham.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. bum permalink
    2010/04/20 4:57 pm

    What is the world coming to? I would like to beat Victoria Beckham to death with her bags.

    • 2010/04/20 5:52 pm

      While I don’t want to beat her to death with her bags. I wouldn’t mind having her entire wardrobe, that is if I ever became a size 00

  2. Bum permalink
    2010/04/20 10:09 pm

    Beat her to death for being stupid then take her wardrobe.

    • 2010/04/21 12:28 am

      I don’t think we should. We can scheme and try to find another way to get her wardrobe for me!

  3. 2010/04/23 2:20 am

    It’s a nice simple bag, but owning all the colours of the rainbow is a bit insane. 1.5 million GPB? Holy shit, lmao.

    I found your blog through IFB and decided to add you! Fellow curvy Canadian-Asian is always nice! xoxo

    http://bonjourgazel.blogspot.com

    • 2010/04/24 12:37 am

      It’s a simple bag, made out of THE softest leather I have ever felt. I can’t imagine spending that much money on them though. Its a little crazy.

      Thanks for the add btw!!

Leave a Reply

