Skip to content

world’s most expensive purse #5

2010/04/16

Those who know me, know I have a penchant for purses. My theory is, the larger the better, the more the merrier. So when I stumbled upon a list of ‘the world’s most expensive purses’, I think I died a little.

While I was dying a little, I thought I’d share it with all of you and see what your thoughts are. And because there is so much to say about just one purse, I will be splitting this into five parts so that it doesn’t create a purse overload.

World’s most expensive purse #5
Louis Vuitton Tribute Patchwork Bag – $ 45,000


Yup that’s right, three zeros. First off, I’m a big fan of Louis Vuitton purses, but I am definitely not a fan of this one. It is composed of 15 fabric samples of Louis Vuitton’s Spring/Summer Cruise Line ’07. While I can’t fathom why anyone would even consider buying this, it turns out that the 24 that were made sold out in record time. Each individual purse is handcrafted and not one looks the same.

A spokesperson said that these bags “take all the best parts of the season’s creations and rolls them into one. We are confident that the bag is utterly exclusive and that it will remain so.” Well I think that’s pretty self-explanatory, I mean, if you make 24 than obviously the bag is going to be “utterly exclusive” regardless of how nice or ugly the bag is.

If I had $45,000 I would probably not buy this, I think it’s pretty ugly and it really brings down the Louis Vuitton brand. I read on a blog someone was able to construct a replica of this with $300, all they needed was four hours to look for and buy the fake versions of each separate bag and a seamstress to cut them up and sew the fabrics together. That’s a pretty big price difference, what was Marc Jacobs thinking when he made this?!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Bum permalink
    2010/04/16 6:16 pm

    Hate it. Looks like they ran out of fabric and used what was leftover to finish it. If designing things to look like shit and calling it piece of art and selling it for at stupid-people’s-price as a job, hook me up.

    • 2010/04/17 8:39 pm

      Yeah, I don’t like it either. It’s overpriced and ugly as hell. blech

  2. Hollie permalink
    2011/08/10 6:54 am

    I love it Xx

Trackbacks

  1. 1 month baby_1 month pregnant_xbox live 1 month » What items can you find in a womens purse?

Leave a Reply

