Skip to content

for the love of; oxfords

2010/04/14

The oxfords has become really popular in the last two years, and there’s no end in sight. I’m a huge fan of oxfords and wouldn’t mind buying a few pairs! They are really adorable, it’s menswear meets preppy all in one pair of shoes. The are extremely versatile and functional, you can wear it with just about anything you can imagine – skinny jeans, tights, skirts and dresses. I think my favourite look would be wearing a boyfriend blazer with either a skirt or a pair of skinny jeans.

Traditionally oxfords are brogues/wing tipped leather lace-up flats but times have changed and the oxfords are also changing. Now you can find open-toe oxfords, booties and ones that are made of different material – felt, patent etc. I personally love the bootie and the patent ones. There’s something about shiny shoes that makes me happy.

You can find oxfords in high-end stores like Holt Renfrew and big box stores like Forever 21. I’ve been told that you can also find oxfords at many vintage and thrift stores. I can’t wait to go check out Value Village and Black Market once my Financial Accounting final is done. For now, I can only drool over them online haha.

I got these from Nine West last summer, I wasn’t sure if I wanted to buy them when I tried them on, so I opted not to and called it a day instead. But I couldn’t get my mind off of them and I kept talking about them. So much to the point where my boyfriend was getting annoyed haha. So I had to go back and get them the next day, and I haven’t looked back since. They’re really comfortable, and look really sexy with a pair of skinny jeans. I love that they aren’t your typical oxford booties, the two cut outs makes it more unique and original. Although, now it’s not so original because I saw something similar at Forever 21 just recently. I guess I can be a bit of a shoe snob and say that I got these last summer haha.

image sources:

http://styletips101.com/, http://blog.baghaus.com/, http://www.umeboshishoes.com/, http://www.refinery29.com/, http://www.runwaydaily.com/

5 Comments leave one →
  1. bella ur sister permalink
    2010/04/14 4:03 am

    kakaka
    i got a pair of shoes for 10,000KRW … another pair of “oxfords” I guess…
    you should wear my white ones if u really like them … i rmb u HATED them wen i first got them… so i can be the snob and say i got them 3 years ago!! wahahaha
    I’ll show u a pic of my new ones.. maybe u would like them i can get u a pair too ^^

    • 2010/04/15 5:31 pm

      I don’t hate your white shoes now. Show me the new ones you got, maybe i’ll you can get me a pair if I like them.
      You can’t be a shoe snob, because your white ones are like any other pair of oxfords. Mine have CUT OUTS in them. Sucker.

      I would really like a pair of patent ones, and a pair of black wingtips. Ok, show you later

  2. bum permalink
    2010/04/14 7:19 am

    Who doesn’t like shiny things!? Lol. And yes, I remember those. Evil. How do I become a shoe fetishee? Because it’s not “working” for me with the shoes =p

    • 2010/04/15 5:27 pm

      I love LOVE shiny things. My shoes aren’t evil, they are sexy
      Maybe ill strap you to a chair and make you look at pictures of shoes for 24hrs will help you become a shoe fetishee

      I’ll make it work for you. haha

  3. 2010/11/18 10:11 am

    sometimes skinny jeans are not comfortable to wear, i would always prefer to use loos jeans “*;

Leave a Reply

