Skip to content

nail art

2010/03/20

Two weeks ago I got my nails done at a nail salon, I usually go in to get the acrylic nails, however this time, I was able to get the bio gel type that is supposedly really good for your nails and will do the least amount of damage to your natural nails. So far, I am in love!! I was also told that these can last for at least a month before you have to go in and get them refilled, which is a long time because acrylics usually last a week or two before they get really ugly. I usually get them done really short so that when it grows out it won’t look too scary haha. Not to mention when you get them done long, everyday tasks like buttoning your pants or picking things up from the floor becomes a tedious task.

In the past few months I’ve noticed that the nail salons at Pacific Mall and First Markham Place have introduced a Japanese trend that I’m really excited about, but would probably never try. Well I wouldn’t say never, but my boyfriend says that it’s too excessive so I guess that’s his way of saying “ew”. hahaha. 3d nail art in Japan is extremely popular, and can be seen on a lot of Himegyaru (a Japanese transliteration meaning princess gal). The nail technician usually makes stereoscopic designs by applying paint-like substance called “mixture” over your nails. With quick strokes you can form the shapes you want before they start to dry.

I can’t help but admire how pretty they look. The set on the right is very aesthetically pleasing in my opinion, maybe it is a little excessive, but the amount of detail that’s on each nail is extraordinary. I wonder if they’ll weight your hands down, because of all the rhinestones and faux pearls.

Of all the flowers and designs I’ve seen, I think my favourite design would have to be the rose. I think that it’s extremely exquisite in it’s own way. I would probably go with a pink rose rather than the silver or blue.

A lot of people find it tacky and I can see why, but you’ve gotta admit that it takes a lot of skill and patience to do this. From what I know, getting nail art can cost up to $80 CDN depending on how intricate you want your designs. Another reason I would never get this done: it’s way too costly. But it doesn’t stop me from looking at pictures!

I wish I could learn how to do this, so that I can do it for myself. I think that it would be a really neat skill to have. While 3d designs may not be everyone’s cup of tea, airbrush designs are also really popular. However, I still prefer 3d nail art. hehe.

Would you get 3d nail art?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 2011/01/05 4:28 pm

    i like it too:)

  2. 2011/09/21 7:45 am

    I love 3D nail art and I do my own ^_^ i take inspiration from Japanese nail magazines like nail up and nail venus ~

  3. nadine permalink
    2012/02/01 11:51 am

    i really want the lace ones for my wedding day where can i get them done please help if you can

    • 2012/02/14 12:06 pm

      Hey! First off, CONGRATS!!!
      And thanks for visiting my blog.
      Based on your email address I’m assuming you’re from the UK, unfortunately I’m from Toronto, Canada. I’m not sure where you would be able to find a place that you can get the lace ones done, but I did do a quick search on Google and found a few nail art/nail polish blogs that are from the UK.

      http://www.wendysdelights.blogspot.com/
      http://stampnpolish.blogspot.com/
      http://www.ocnpd.blogspot.com/

      I hope one of these bloggers would be able to help you out! And best of luck on your big day!
      If you end up finding a place in the UK, please come back and show me a picture!

      -mia

  4. Sheila Johnson permalink
    2012/02/14 8:45 am

    Love your work I am into the french manicure classic style!

  5. 2012/07/31 7:12 am

    Chris has often been focused on Art on Nails. With thanks for the blog and routinely keep crafting
    nail art « sortofromantic postings.

Leave a Reply

